Creaky submitted a new Showcase Item:
Read more about this showcase item here...As far back as 1861, it is believed that workers at the famous exhibition building formed the initial Crystal Palace team as an amateur club. They became founder members of the Football Association and competed in the first FA Cup, reaching the semi-finals where they were eliminated by the Royal Engineers. The team disappeared from historical records after a 3–0 defeat to Wanderers in the second round of the 1875–76 FA Cup, although records from 1883, show a team known as Crystal Palace Rovers, which is thought to have contained some of the players that appeared in those very early FA Cup matches. The association between Crystal Palace and the FA Cup resumed in 1895, when the FA adopted a new permanent home for the final, at The Crystal Palace. With the owners of the attraction reliant on tourist activity for their income, they sought fresh attractions for the venue, and it did not take long for the idea of forming their own team to play at the ground to occur.
The new football club, originally nicknamed "The Glaziers", was formed on 10 September 1905 under the guidance of Aston Villa assistant secretary Edmund Goodman. The club applied to enter the Football League alongside Chelsea and Southampton, but was the only unsuccessful team of the three. The club instead found itself in the Southern League Second Division for the 1905–06 season. The club was successful in its inaugural season and was promoted to the First Division, crowned as champions. In their first season Crystal Palace also played in the mid-week United Counties League, finishing runner-up to Watford, and it was in this competition that the club played their first match, winning 3–0 away to New Brompton.
Palace remained in the Southern League up until 1914, their one highlight the 1907 shock First Round victory over Newcastle United in the FA Cup. The outbreak of World War I led to the Admiralty requisitioning The Crystal Palace and the club was forced to move to the home of West Norwood F.C., Herne Hill. Three years later the club moved again to The Nest due to the folding of Croydon Common F.C. The club joined the Football League Third Division in the 1920–21 season, finishing as champions and gaining promotion to the Second Division. During this period, Palace also won the London Challenge Cup three times in 1913, 1914, and 1921. Palace moved to the purpose-built stadium Selhurst Park in 1924, the ground the club plays at today.
The opening fixture at Selhurst Park was against...